top of page



The Section 8 program allows private landlords to rent apartments and homes at fair market rates to qualified low income tenants, with a rental subsidy administered by Home Forward. “Section 8” is a common name for the Housing Choice Voucher Program, funded by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

Section 8 is a government program that provides rental assistance. Tenants apply for the program, and if they meet certain requirements, they are granted a housing voucher from the government. ... Renting to a Section 8 tenant, therefore, provides the advantage of receiving the rental payment consistently each month.

In practice, the Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher program will pay the balance of a rent payment that exceeds 30% of a renter’s monthly income. The rental unit must be inspected and approved by the local housing authority and the rental amount must be at or below the Fair Market Rent set by HUD.


Your details were sent successfully!


Subscribe for Updates

Congrats! You're subscribed.


In 1965, the passage of the Social Security Act Amendments, popularly known as Medicare, resulted in a basic program of hospital insurance for persons aged 65 and older, and a supplementary medical insurance program to aid the elderly in paying doctor bills and other health care bills. The program is based on contributions that workers make into the system. While you're employed, you pay into Social Security; you receive benefits later on, when it's your turn to retire. Contributions take the form of the Federal Insurance Contributions Act (FICA) taxes that are withheld from most paychecks.

The Social Security Act and related laws establish a number of programs that have the following basic purposes: To provide for the material needs of individuals and families; To protect aged and disabled persons against the expenses of illnesses that may otherwise use up their savings; and to keep families together. It is an act to provide for the general welfare by establishing a system of Federal old-age benefits, and by enabling the several States to make more adequate provision for aged persons, blind persons, dependent and crippled children, maternal and child welfare, public health, and the administration of their unemployment 

Two out of 3 seniors rely on Social Security benefits for most of their income. And Social Security's importance is increasing. Americans have traditionally relied on the “three-legged stool” of Social Security, personal savings and employer pensions to have sufficient income for retirement.


Cal Fresh 

The Cal Fresh Program, formerly known as Food Stamps and federally known as the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), can add to your food budget to put healthy and nutritious food on the table. The program issues monthly electronic benefits that can be used to buy most foods at many markets and food stores. The amount of the benefit is based on the size of your household, your income, and your housing expenses. Cal Fresh benefits come on a plastic card, called the Golden State Advantage Card, which you can use just like a bank card at most food stores. Cal Fresh is an entitlement program and is funded by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) under the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP). Cal Fresh is an entitlement program, which means that all who are eligible and apply will receive benefits. You are not “taking someone else’s place” if you apply. USDA sets aside funds for the program.


Everyone who begins to investigate their long-term health care options quickly comes across these terms.  The following will hopefully help you understand what these terms are and the differences between them.

  1. Medicare is a Federal program which provides basic health insurance to everyone over age 65, and people who are under 65 but are eligible for Social Security Disability benefits.

  2. Medicaid is a joint Federal-State program which provides (among other things) long-term care for seniors. 

  3. Medi-Cal is what the Federal Medicaid program is called in California.  Thus, Medicaid and Medi-Cal are essentially the same thing.

Medicare has several “parts.”  These include: Medicare Part A, which is Hospital Insurance; Medicare Part B, which is Medical Insurance; Medicare Part C (Medicare Advantage), which was formerly known as Medicare + Choice; and Medicare Part D, which is prescription drug coverage. Generally, people who are over age 65 and getting Social Security automatically qualify for Medicare Parts A and B Part A is paid for by a portion of Social Security tax. It helps pay for inpatient hospital care, skilled nursing care, hospice care and other services.

bottom of page